Chronicle

GEORGE FRANGULYAN

     Sculptor, People’s Artist of Russia, Full Member of Russian Academy of Arts, laureate of international contests, Professor of International Academy of Architecture

Георгий Франгулн с братом и родителями, Тбилиси, 1948-49 гг.jpgГеоргий Франгулян с отцом, 1948 г..jpg Первая скульптурная работа, 1962 г..jpg

     

 He was born on May, 29, 1945 in Tbilisi (Georgia) at the old Sololaki region. According to the sculptor himself, the place of birth has largely defined his creative method and approach to life.

       “I've been born and raised in Georgia, Tbilisi, among mountains. This place brought up my sense of space. When you see clouds float down there, eagles fly beneath, when you follow them sliding against mountains, rising air currents bringing mist, these moments give you feelings that define your life”.

        Frangulyan’s grandmother has been a famous pianist; their house welcomed everything related to art. Atmosphere of music and art has formed an aura, which developed sculptor’s future creative method and attitude to life.

      In 1956 Frangulyan and his family have moved to Moscow. Here the future sculptor has entered famous physical and mathematical Vtoraya Shkola (“The Second School”), which is known besides its strong mathematical education for the large portion of human knowledge it gives to students. At that time such masters of national pedagogy as Feliks Raskolnikov and Israel Sevashinsky taught there. Raskolnikov, who taught literature, was risking his status and position opening prohibited authors to students. Among the authors was Frangulyan’s favourite writer Isaac Babel. When after years the sculptor was working on the monument to the writer, which later was erected in Odessa in 2011, he admitted that he’s been significantly formed by flavour and essence of Babel language. “There is no empty space; there is an incredible density of images and unusual Russian language… perhaps, Isaac Babel is rather sculptor in literature.”


  

        There at school was also working a famous Shakespearean scholar, expert on antiquity Vladimir Rogov. It was Rogov’s initiative to put Sophocles’ tragedy Philoctetes on the stage of the school theatre that played decisive role in determining the future profession. Frangulyan sculpted a figurine of Philoctetes and presented it to producer. His family’s friend sculptor Mikhail Smirnov saw it accidentally and expressed his high opinion about it. This fact has opened the door to art for Frangulyan.

      In 1964 he entered the sculpture department of Stroganov Higher Arts and Crafts College (so called Stroganovka). At Stroganovka George Frangulyan was educated by two intersecting schools of George Motovilov and Aleksandr Matveyev, students of which taught plastic art (sketch, figure modelling). However the future sculptor did not succeed to enter the College at the first time. Unlike other young people who had graduated from specialized secondary schools, Frangulyan started his studies late, and wasn’t prepared enough; therefore he had to work actively for another year, learning the painter’s craft. As the sculptor noted later, it has played a significant role in understanding of his profession. Every artist must be also a perfect draftsman, because craft generates own handwriting of the artist, which determines his individuality. Only having absorbed all the stages of the world art development, you can become part of it.

     While studying at Stroganovka, Frangulyan became a permanent participant of national and international art exhibitions. For his life he took part in more than 100 exhibitions.

      In 1983 he established the first in the USSR author’s foundry. The USSR was monopolist on non-ferrous metals, which means that one could cast a bronze sculpture only at the state-owned enterprises. It wasn’t possible to get there unless you had a special government order. However, in 1982 Frangulyan visited symposium on casting in Hungary, after which he fell under the spell of the process. He built his own foundry in the yard of his workshop. His creative desire has been stronger than the circumstances; thus he has risked and become the first in the USSR to cast bronze sculptures on his own, obeying only his conviction and desire.


Liteika_3.jpgLiteika_1.jpg

       

       George Frangulyan worked in the genre of easel and monumental sculpture. He used various materials, including bronze, marble, wood, and ceramics. If needed he used wax, glass, mirrors, and even water. The graphic arts took a special place in Frangulyan’s works. His graphic series The Artist and the Model, Still lifes, Motives and others have become a collectible among Russian, Italian, French, and Austrian graphics collectors long ago. One of demonstrations of his graphic art is his original technique of wax drawing vaguely reminiscent of the encaustic technique. It has been used by ancient Egyptians who created their well-known Fayum portraits. The artist used graphite, ink, watercolour, and melted wax in his original technique. Such a combination was called to animate paper and give an opportunity to create plastic vivid images on a plane.

         In the 1990s George Frangulyan has created a new genre which could be called “sculptural design”. These were functional things with an original figurative embodiment (series The Watch, 1993, bronze, gold and silver plated, semi-precious stones ).

      Frangulyan has become publicly known for his monumental works in different towns of Russia and the former USSR, as well as in Hungary, Bulgaria, Italy and Belgium.

    

MAJOR MONUMENTAL WORKS

1977 – Wreath of Glory at the Heroes Boulevard Memorial Complex in Novokuznetsk (bronze).

1986 – The Kan and The Yenisei fountain in Zelenogorsk (bronze)

1990 – The Crucifixion for St. Francis Cathedral in Ravenna, Italy (bronze, consecrated in Vatican)

1992–1993 – Allegorical figures at the building of Russian Academy of Sciences in Moscow (bronze)

1998 – Monument to Peter the Great in Antwerp, Belgium (bronze)

1999 – Monument to Aleksandr Pushkin in Brussels, Belgium (bronze)

2002 – Monument to Bulat Okudzhava in Moscow, Arbat (bronze)

2003 – Monument to Empress Elizabeth in Baltiysk (bronze)

2007 – Monument to Aram Khachaturian in Moscow, Briusov Pereulok (bronze)

2007 – The Barque of Dante, Venice (bronze)

2008 – Boris Yeltsin gravestone at Novodevichye cemetery in Moscow (white marble, Byzantine mosaic blue, red porphyry)

2011 – Monument to Boris Yeltsin in Yekaterinburg (marble)

2011 – Monument to Joseph Brodsky in Moscow (bronze)

2013 – Monument to Yegor Gaydar in Moscow (bronze)


EASEL

      One of the dominant themes of artist’s easel is one of the nude. It was expressed in solitary or paired compositions mainly made of bronze, sometimes of stone, wood, and ceramics, detailed or straight conversely, always expressive in their motion.

     Major works:

1. Series of figurines The Imps, ceramics, 1965 (this is the first series to be exposed; from this thing Frangulyan’s name has become famous).

2. Antique cyclus, 1980 (Tretyakov Gallery)

3. Still lifes with equestrian statues, 2001 (Author’s collection)


   AUTHOR OF SIGNS AND AWARDS

1. Sign of music festival Crescendo.

2. Vybor award of Soprotivleniye human rights movement.

3. Rabbi Emmanuel Yakobovitz award of Conference of European Rabbis (CER) – Torah of cast silver

4. Moscow Counting poet award – The Arc of bronze

5. Ogonyok magazine award – The Best Goalkeeper of the Year

6. Series of gifts for members of government and heads of states

7. Dante Medal, which was awarded to the winners of the Biennale of small plastics on The Divine Comedy by Dante in Ravenna

8. Medal of Sergey Mikhalkov international contest Children today, people tomorrow.


       The sculptor’s works are at State Tretyakov Gallery, Aleksandr Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, State Russian Museum, museums of Sochi, Tomsk, Tbilisi, Tambov, Berdyansk, Kaliningrad, and abroad in Hungary, Bulgaria, Italy and so on, in personal collections in Russia, Italy, Germany, USA, France, Sweden, Spain, Hungary, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Australia, UK, and Japan.


MAJOR EXHIBITIONS

1967 – Sculpture of Small Forms Exhibition in Budapest, Hungary

1984 – participation in Youth council in Paris, France

1986 – Moscow sculptors at the National Gallery of Bulgaria

1990 – At Millesgården, Stockholm, Sweden

1990 – 50 años de arte sovietise, Barcelona, Spain

1991 – exhibition under the auspices of UNESCO in Spazio Centre (Florence, Italy)

1992 – The Tale of Bread and Tears, Ljubljana, Slovenia

1993 – Frangulyan’s Sculpture personal exhibition at Russian Academy of Arts in Moscow

1993 – Rome personal exhibition at Palazzo Albertoni, Rome, Italy

1994 – Life. Love. Death in Bordighera, Italy

1994 – Personal exhibition in Colmar, France

1995 – White Sculpture and Drawing. Personal exhibition at
Moscow Palette Gallery, Moscow

1998 – Personal exhibition at Katrin Altin Gallery in Antwerp, Belgium

1999 – Personal exhibition at Grand Plaza in Brussels, Belgium

2001 – Jesus Christ at State Russian Museum in St. Petersburg

2002 – Personal exhibition at Our Heritage magazine, Moscow

2002 – Exhibition dedicated to Aleksandr Pushkin at Pushkin Museum on Prechistenka, Moscow

2006 – George Frangulyan. Space of Sculpture personal exhibition at State Pushkin Museum of Fine Arts, Moscow


AWARDS

1979 – Grekov Silver Medal for Novokuznetsk Memorial Complex

1982 – Grand Prize at International small-forms competition in Nyíregyháza, Hungary

1986 – Order of the Badge of Honour

1987 – Grand Prize at International Sculpture Contest in Poznań, Poland

1988 – Jury Prize at Dantesco Centre Sculpture Contest in Ravenna, Italy

1990 – Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals of Dantesco Centre in Ravenna, Italy

1996 – Silver Medal of Russian Academy of Arts

1998 – Gold Medal of Russian Academy of Arts

1999 – Diploma of Russian Academy of Arts

1999 – Pushkin Gold Medal of Union of Russian Artists

1999 – Antwerp Municipality Medal, Belgium

2004 – Honoured Artist of Russia

2011 – The supreme order of Russian Academy of Arts, Golden Cross

2011 – People’s Artist of Russia


       The artist’s studio is subject of a special interest. It is situated in an old log house not far from Arbat. Once in the nearby house Ilya Repin worked, and Valentin Serov took his drawing lessons. In addition to studio you can see a foundry in the yard, there is a gallery of sculptures and drawings. Owner has created a unique vivid space holding the atmosphere of a beautiful moment of life, a spark of emotion, absolute victory over everyday routine. Even now you can find people creating sketches, models here, casting bronze to capture the Master’s energy and stopping the moment of beauty.

Георгий Франгулян и Леонид Соков, 1965 г..jpgIMG_5818-12.jpgГеоргий Франгулян и Джакомо Манцу, 1989 г..jpg


      All the works of Frangulyan combine soulful lyricism with sober calculation, fine intuition with high professional culture, unveiled love of life with taste for professional analysis. The catalogue for exhibition, which took place in Academy of Arts, had an epigraph with sculptor’s words that have defined his artistic creed: “You can destroy the temple, but every part of it would bear the idea of creativity.”

Хроника

ФРАНГУЛЯН ГЕОРГИЙ ВАРТАНОВИЧ

Скульптор, народный художник России, действительный член Российской Академии художеств, лауреат международных конкурсов, профессор Международной Академии архитектуры.



             Георгий Франгулян родился 29 мая 1945 года в Тбилиси (Грузия) в старинном квартале Сололаки. Место рождения, по словам скульптора, во многом определило его творческий метод и отношение к жизни и к искусству. «Я родился и вырос в Грузии, в Тбилиси, среди гор. И мое ощущение пространства было воспитано именно там. Когда видишь, что облака плывут ниже тебя, что орлы летают внизу, и ты следишь за их скольжением на фоне гор, за движением воздушных потоков, поднимающегося тумана, тогда и рождаются ощущения, определяющие твою жизнь» - вспоминал впоследствии Георгий Франгулян. 

      

        Бабушка – Варвара Франгулян - была известной пианисткой, в семье Франгуляна приветствовалось все, связанное с искусством. Атмосфера музыки и творчества создавала определенную ауру, формируя особое отношение к жизни и будущий творческий метод скульптора. 

       

Георгий Франгулн с братом и родителями, Тбилиси, 1948-49 гг.jpgГеоргий Франгулян с отцом, 1948 г..jpg Первая скульптурная работа, 1962 г..jpg

         В 1956 г. Семья Франгуляна переехала в Москву. Здесь будущий скульптор поступил в знаменитую физико-математическую «Вторую школу», известную тем, что помимо мощного математического образования, она давала ученикам широчайший пласт гуманитарных знаний. В то время там преподавали такие мастера отечественной педагогики, как Феликс Раскольников и Израиль Севашинский. Учитель литературы Раскольников, рискуя статусом и положением, открывал ученикам запрещенных авторов, в том числе, одного из любимых писателей будущего скульптора - Исаака Бабеля. Спустя годы, работая над памятником писателю, установленном в Одессе в 2011 году, Георгий Вартанович Франгулян признавался, что колорит и сущность бабелевского языка во многом его сформировали – «Здесь нет пустых мест, есть невероятная плотность образов и необычный русский язык ….пожалуй, Исаак Бабель - скорее скульптор от литературы». 

памятник Исааку Бабелю работы Франгулянапамятник Исааку Бабелю работы Франгулянапамятник Исааку Бабелю работы Франгуляна

        В школе также работал известный шекспировед и специалист по античному искусству Владимир Рогов. Инициатива Рогова поставить в школьном театре трагедию Софокла «Филоктет» сыграла решающую роль в определении будущей профессии. В подарок режиссеру Георгий Франгулян вылепил статуэтку Филоктета . Случайно увидев статуэтку, друг семьи, скульптор Михаил Смирнов, дал ей высокую оценку, открыв Франгуляну двери в мир искусства. 


             В 1964 году Франгулян поступил на отделение скульптуры Высшего художественно-промышленного училища имени Строганова. В Строгановке он воспитывался на пересечении двух школ – Г. Мотовилова и А. Матвеева, чьи ученики преподавали пластическое искусство (этюд, лепка фигуры). Однако поступить с первого раза в училище будущему скульптору не удалось. В отличие от ребят, окончивших средние специальные заведения, Франгулян поздно начал заниматься, и не был достаточно подготовлен, поэтому пришлось еще год активно работать, обучаясь ремеслу рисовальщика и постигая историю искусства. Как впоследствии отмечал скульптор, это сыграло существенную роль в осмыслении профессии. Каждый художник должен быть идеальным рисовальщиком, потому что ремесло формирует личный почерк, определяющий мастера как индивидуальность. И только впитав в себя все этапы развития мирового искусства, можно стать его частью. 


          Еще учась в Строгановке, Георгий Франгулян стал постоянным участником отечественных и международных художественных экспозиций. На протяжении творческого пути скульптор принял участие более чем 100 выставках. .
В 1983 году Франгулян создал в своей мастерской первое в СССР авторское литейное производство. В то время в СССР существовала монополия на цветные металлы, отлить скульптуру из бронзы было возможно только на государственных предприятиях, а возможность попасть туда без специального госзаказа была исключена. Однако в 1982 году, после посещения симпозиума по литью в Венгрии, Георгий Вартанович попал под обаяние процесса и во дворе мастерской построил собственный литейный цех. Желание творить было сильнее обстоятельств, он рискнул и первым в СССР стал самостоятельно отливать бронзовые скульптуры, подчиняясь только своим убеждениям и желаниям. 

литье, Георгий Франгулян
          Георгий Франгулян работает в жанре станковой и монументальной скульптуры с различными материалами, в том числе бронзой, мрамором, деревом, керамикой, если нужно использует воск, стекло, зеркала и даже воду.
Особое место в творчестве Франгуляна занимает 
графика. Его графические серии «Художник и модель», «Натюрморты», «Мотивы» и другие давно стали предметом коллекционирования среди собирателей графики и ценителей искусства в России, Италии, Франции и Австрии. Одной из граней графического творчества Франгуляна является созданная им оригинальная техника восковых рисунков, отдаленно напоминающая технику энкаустики. В ней работали древние египтяне, создавая знаменитые фаюмские портреты. В своей авторской технике Георгий Вартанович использует графит, тушь, акварель и расплавленный воск. Такое сочетание как бы оживляет бумагу, дает возможность создавать на плоскости пластически-подвижные образы. 


         В 1990-е Георгий Франгулян создал новый жанр, который условно можно назвать «скульптурным дизайном» - оригинальные по своему образному воплощению функциональные вещи (серия «Часы», 1993 г., бронза, позолота, серебрение, полудрагоценные камни).
Широкой публике скульптор Франгулян известен своими монументальными работами в разных городах России и бывшего СССР, а также в Венгрии, Болгарии, Италии, Бельгии. 


ОСНОВНЫЕ МОНУМЕНТАЛЬНЫЕ РАБОТЫ ГЕОРГИЯ ФРАНГУЛЯНА


2. 1986 г. – фонтан «Кан и Енисей», Зеленогорск (бронза)

3. 1990 - «Распятие» для собора Святого Франциска, Равенна, Италия (бронза, освящено Ватиканом)


5. 1998 - Памятник Петру I, Антверпен, Бельгия(бронза)


7. 2002 - Памятник Булату Окуджаве, Москва, Арбат (бронза)


9. 2007 г - Памятник Араму Хачатуряну , Москва, Брюсов переулок (бронза)

10. 2007 г. - Ладья Данте, Венеция (бронза)

11. 2008 г. - Надгробие на могиле Бориса Ельцина, Новодевичье кладбище, Москва (белый мрамор, голубая византийская мозаика, красный порфир)

12. 2011 г. - Монумент Борису Ельцину, Екатеринбург (мрамор)

13. 2011 г. – памятник Исааку Бабелю, Одесса (бронза)

14. 2011 г. – памятник Иосифу Броскому, Москва (бронза)

15. 2013 г. — памятник Егору Гайдару, Москва (бронза)

16. 2014 г. – скульптурная композиция «Белый город»,Москва (нержавеющая сталь)

17. 2015 г. - памятник Дмитрию Шостаковичу, Москва (бронза)

18. 2015 г. - памятник Альберту Эйнштейну, Иерусалим (бронза)

    СТАНКОВОЕ ТВОРЧЕСТВО ГЕОРГИЯ ФРАНГУЛЯНА 

         Одной из главенствующих тем своего станкового творчества Франгулян выбрал тему обнаженной натуры. Это одиночные или парные композиции преимущественно в бронзе, реже в камне, дереве и керамике, детализированные или наоборот, неизменно экспрессивные по выраженному в них движению.

    Основные работы: 
    1. Серия фигурок «Чертики», керамика, 1965 г. (именно эта серия художника была впервые экспонирована, с этой вещи фамилию Франгулян запомнили).
    2. «Античный цикл», 1980 г. (Государственная Третьяковская галерея)
    3. Натюрморты с включением конных статуй, 2001 г. (Собрание автора) 


    АВТОР ЗНАКОВ И ПРЕМИЙ: 

    1. Знак музыкального фестиваля «Crescendo» 
    2. Премия «Выбор» правозащитного движения «Сопротивление» 
    3. Премия имени раввина Иммануэля Якобовица Конференции Европейских Раввинов (CER) – «Тора» из литого серебра 
    4. Поэтическая премия «Московский счёт» - бронзовая «Арка» 
    5. Премия журнала «Огонек» - «Лучший вратарь года» 
    6. Серия подарков для членов правительства и глав государств 
    7. Медаль Данте, которой награждались победители биеннале мелкой пластики на тему «Божественной комедии» Данте в Равенне 
    8. Медаль международного конкурса Сергея Михалкова «Сегодня -дети, завтра- народ». 
        
          Работы  Франгуляна находятся в Государственной Третьяковской галерее, ГМИИ имени А.С. Пушкина, в Государственном Русском музее, в музеях Сочи, Томска, Тбилиси, Тамбова, Бердянска, Калининграда, а также за рубежом - в Венгрии, Болгарии, Италии и др. В частных собраниях России, Италии, Германии, США, Франции, Швеции, Испании, Венгрии, Чехии, Болгарии, Австралии, Англии, Японии. 


    ОСНОВНЫЕ ВЫСТАВКИ ФРАНГУЛЯНА :

    1967 - первое участие в художественной выставке (Москва) 
    1984 - участие в Молодежном соборе в Париже (Франция)
    1986 - «Московские скульпторы» В Национальной галерее Болгарии
    1990 - «В саду Милесса», Стокгольм (Швеция)
    1990 - «50 anos de arte sovietico”, Барселона (Испания)
    1991 – экспозиция под эгидой Юнеско в Спаццио-центре, (Флоренция)
    1992 - «Сказка о хлебе и слезах», Любляна (Югославия)
    1993 - Персональная выставка «Скульптура Франгуляна» Российская академии художеств, Москва
    1993 - Персональная выставка «Rome» Палаццо Альбертони , Рим
    1994 - «Жизнь. Любовь. Смерть», Бордигера (Италия)
    1994 - Персональная выставка в г. Кольмар (Франция).
    1995 - «Белая скульптура и рисунок». Персональная выставка Галерея «Московская палитра», Москва
    1998 - Персональная выставка в галерее Катрин Альтин, Антверпен (Бельгия)
    1999 - Персональная выставка на Гран плац, Брюссель (Бельгия)
    2001 - «Иисус Христос» Государственный Русский музей, Санкт-Петербург
    2002 - Персональная выставка в редакции журнала «Наше наследие», Москва
    2002 – Проект, посвященный А.С. Пушкину, Государственный музей А.С.Пушкина, Moсква 

    ОСНОВНЫЕ НАГРАДЫ ГЕОРГИЯ ФРАНГУЛЯНА

    1979 г. - Серебряная медаль им. Грекова за Мемориальный комплекс в Новокузнецке
    1982 г.- «Гран-при» Международного конкурса малой пластики (Ньиредьхаза, Венгрия)
    1986 г. - Орден «Знак Почета»
    1987 г. – «Гран-При» Международного конкурса скульптуры (Познань, Польша)
    1988 г. - Приз жюри Международного конкурса скульптуры Центра «Дантеско» (Равенна)
    1990 г. - Золотая, серебряная и бронзовая медали центра «Дантеско» (Равенна)
    1996 г. - Серебряная медаль Российской академии художеств
    1998 г. – Золотая медаль Российской Академии художеств
    1999 г. – Диплом Российской Академии художеств
    1999 г. – Золотая пушкинская медаль Союза художников Российской федерации
    1999 г. - Медаль муниципалитета г. Антверпен, Бельгия
    2004 г. - Заслуженный художник России
    2011 г. – Высший орден Российской Академии художеств –
    Золотой крест
    2011 г. – Народный художник России
    2015 г. – медаль Российской академии художеств «За заслуги перед Академией»
    2015 г. – золотая медаль Союза художников России "За выдающийся вклад в изобразительное искусство России" 
    2015 г. – орден «Серебряный крест» Общероссийской общественной организации «Союз армян России»
    2015 г. – Медаль Мовсеса Хоренаци за выдающиеся творческие достижения в областях армянской культуры, искусства, литературы, образования, гуманитарных наук.


              Предмет отдельного интереса представляет с
    обой мастерская Франгуляна, расположенная в старинном бревенчатом особняке недалеко от Арбата. Когда-то в соседнем доме работал Илья Репин, а Валентин Серов брал здесь уроки рисования. Помимо пространства мастерской, во дворе расположен литейный цех и галерея скульптурных и живописных произведений. Уникальное, живое пространство, созданное Франгуляном, несет атмосферу прекрасного мгновения жизни, искру эмоции, абсолютной победы над повседневностью. Здесь и сегодня создаются эскизы, модели, отливается бронза, запечатлевая энергию Мастера и останавливая миг красоты. 


                 Во всех произведениях художник Георгий Франгулян сочетает проникновенный лиризм и трезвый расчёт, тонкую интуицию и высокую профессиональную культуру, открытое жизнелюбие и склонность к профессиональному анализу. Фраза скульптора - эпиграф к каталогу выставки, проходившей в Академии художеств - определяет творческое кредо Франгуляна: «Можно разрушить храм, но каждая его часть будет нести в себе идею созидания». 

         
    Георгий Франгулян и Леонид Соков, 1965 г..jpgIMG_5818-12.jpgГеоргий Франгулян и Джакомо Манцу, 1989 г..jpg